Deploy windows service to local machine

Sep 18, 2012 at 1:51 AM
Edited Sep 18, 2012 at 1:55 AM

I'm new to the extension pack and I'm using it to build a deploy task to install & start a service on the local machine.  The service installs, and is set to 'automatic start' but the service is unable to start.  

The error message I get is "Error 1053: The service did not respond to the start or control request in a timely fashion"

In the event logs I see "A timeout was reached (30000 milliseconds) while waiting for the MyService service to connect."

I see this behavior from the build task and if I open the services snap-in and click 'start'.  The failure occurs under 1s - not the 3s described in the event log.

Here is the task defined in my .build file:

<Target Name="Install-Local-ServiceHost">       
  <ItemGroup>
    <ServiceFiles  Include="$(SolutionDir)\src\runtimes\service\bin\$(configuration)\*.*" />
  </ItemGroup>

<Copy SourceFiles="@(ServiceFiles)" DestinationFolder="$(installDir)" />
  <MSBuild.ExtensionPack.Computer.WindowsService TaskAction="Install" ServiceName="$(serviceName)" ServiceDisplayName="$(serviceName)" User="$(username)" Password="$(password)" ServicePath="$(installDir)\Service.exe"/>
  <MSBuild.ExtensionPack.Computer.WindowsService TaskAction="SetAutomatic" ServiceName="$(serviceName)"/>
  <MSBuild.ExtensionPack.Computer.WindowsService TaskAction="Start" ServiceName="$(serviceName)" />
</Target>

Here is how it gets called: 

msbuild leaseup.build /t:Install-Local-ServiceHost /p:installDir="d:\projects\app\deployment\debug\service" /p:username=user /p:password=myPassword /p:ServiceName=MyService

I know my code isn't even getting executed, as the first thing my service does is set up logging, which doesn't happen when I attempt to start the service.  

Ideally I would be able to create a single build task that works for both local & remote deployments, but I'd like to get local working first.

Any help would be appreciated,

TIA,

jason