Any way to create a new XML file?

Mar 27, 2012 at 8:06 PM

I saw from the documentation that XmlFile allows for Add/Remove Attribute/Element.  Is there something I missed that can create a new xml file?

Mar 27, 2012 at 11:05 PM

Do you see any benefit that this would provide over the WriteLinesToFile task?

Mar 28, 2012 at 3:38 PM

I'm trying to create a new XML and it seems like I need to create a xml file with a root but no content, save it, then populate it with XmlFile.  I might be missing something though as I'm new to MSBuild (have been scouring the web for assistance though).  I'm also probably being lazy, but I would think that there would've been a task to create a XML file based on the contents of an Itemgroup and specified prologue for the file.

Mar 28, 2012 at 7:20 PM

Can you expand on your thoughts "create a XML file based on the contents of an Itemgroup and specified prologue for the file"... I'll see what can be done for the upcoming release due in a few days.

Mar 28, 2012 at 9:26 PM
Edited Mar 28, 2012 at 9:29 PM

Hi Mike, thanks for the quick response.

What I'm doing now is this:

<!-- Create the xml file -->
    <XMLLines Include="&lt;?xml version=%221.0%22 encoding=%22utf-8%22 standalone=%22yes%22?&gt;"/>
    <XMLLines Include="&lt;!--Some kind of comment--&gt;"/>
    <XMLLines Include="&lt;root&gt;&lt;/root&gt;"/>

<MyXMLFile Include="myfilename.xml">

<Target Name="CreateMyXML">
    <!-- Create the original file, since XmlFile only edits a xml file -->
    <WriteLinesToFile File="myfilename.xml" Lines="@(XMLLines)" Encoding="UTF-8" Overwrite="true"/>
    <!-- Populate the file with data -->
    <MSBuild.ExtensionPack.XML.XmlFile TaskAction="AddElement"